In 2020, three types of awards will be available to Mountain District members – International Awards, Annual Meeting Awards, and Student/Young Professional Awards.  As the Mountain District builds our unique identity, we anticipate the awards program growing and evolving to showcase the talents, knowledge, and diversity of our membership.  If you have questions or would like additional information about the Mountain District awards program, please don’t hesitate to contact Awards Committee Chair Joey Paskey ([email protected]).

International Awards

Each year, the Institute of Transportation Engineers (ITE) sponsors an awards program to honor outstanding achievement in transportation and distinguished service to ITE.  In addition to a number of International Awards sponsored by ITE, the following will be awarded at the District level, with the winners advancing for consideration at the International level. 

Nominations/submittals for the above are due to the Mountain District Awards Committee ([email protected]) on March 1, 2020.  Winners will be notified by May 1 and announced at the Joint ITE International and Southern District Annual Meeting and Exhibition, August 9-12, 2020.  The updated awards brochure, including submittal requirements and scoring criteria, is available here for more information.


Annual Meeting Awards

As we transition from conducting joint Mountain-Western District meetings to sole Mountain District meetings, the Annual Meeting Awards will initially be shared amongst members from both districts.   The following awards were presented at the 2020 District Annual Meeting in Honolulu, HI, and all Mountain and Western District members will be eligible for each:

* While it is undetermined at this time if a separate Lifetime Achievement Award will be part of the Mountain District’s annual award program in the future, Past Western District Lifetime Achievement Award winners residing in the new Mountain District will continue to receive all acknowledgements and benefits associated with the Award.


Congratulations to the 2020 award winners!


Award Type Description Recipient
Outstanding Section/Chapter Award (formerly Section Activities Award) International

Designed to encourage and promote active involvement by ITE sections in activities promoting the purpose and objectives of ITE. It recognizes the overall quality of section activities, be they technical or non-technical, and may include meetings, committees, reports, seminars and training programs, student participation, career guidance, membership campaigns, public relations activities. 

Arizona Section
ITE Rising Stars Program International

To identify the next generation and new faces of the transportation profession. It is designed to recognize members under the age of 35 who have already made an impact on the profession, have demonstrated the ability to lead the next generation, and have implemented innovative techniques to solve transportation problems. 

Lisa Nguyen - WSP
Transportation Achievement Awards
 1. Complete Streets
 2. TSMO
 3. Safety

Excellence in the advancement of transportation to meet human needs, by entities concerned with transportation such as governmental agencies, legislative bodies, consulting frms, industry, and other organizations.

1. Town of Estes Park, Colorado (4th Street Project)

2. City of Greeley, Colorado (Traffic Systems Operations Upgrade)

3. City of Tempe, Arizona (Vision Zero Tempe)

Daniel B. Fambro Student Paper Award International

Encourage student members of ITE to conduct and report on independent and original research and investigation of traffic or transportation engineering subjects and to provide a means for recognizing outstanding accomplishment in this area.

Nicholas Coppola, UCD
Student Chapter Award International

Encourage student chapters to achieve the objectives outlined in the student chapter charter and to provide a means for ITE to recognize outstanding accomplishments in such activities. 

University of Colorado - Denver
Student Chapter Momentum Award International   Montana State University
Outstanding Undergraduate Student Mountain District   Logan Bennett, BYU
Outstanding Graduate Student Mountain District   Camille Lunt, BYU
Outstanding Educator Award Mountain District  

Dr. Grant Schultz, BYU and Dr. Yingyan Lou, ASU

Best Annual Meeting Paper Award by a Young Professional Annual Meeting Recognizes the author of a paper judged to be the best technical paper presented at the ITE Western District Annual Meeting by a Young Professional. The paper would be judged based on its value to transportation engineering.  Eric Milliken, Laramie, Wyoming: “A Study of Local Gap Acceptance Behavior Using Drone Videography“



                                         Lisa Nguyen and Nicolas Coppola

Student & Young Professionals Awards

Numerous opportunities are available for students and young professionals to compete for awards, to obtain funding for travel expenses to Annual Meetings, and to network with transportation professionals.  The following awards will be presented in 2020:

If you have questions or would like additional information about Students & Young Professionals awards program, please contact Students and Young Professionals Committee Chair Chris Sobie ([email protected]).

Founding District Sponsors

District Sponsors