Announcement for JLG Student Leadership Award

Posted by [email protected] on Apr. 9, 2020  /  Arizona Section Notifications  /   0

AZITE Jenny L. Grote Student Leadership Award

The ITE Arizona Section would like to recognize an exemplary undergraduate/graduate student chapter member who has shown exceptional dedication to the transportation profession through ITE service, mentoring, research, real-world experience and/or other noteworthy accomplishments. Initiated in 2016, this award was named in honor of Jenny L. Grote, who spent many years of her ITE service promoting student involvement through participation in an organization that serves all levels of all transportation career paths.

This year we were fortunate to receive another strong slate of candidates for this Student Leadership Award. Our applicants were from all three major universities in Arizona. After careful consideration, the selection committee has chosen Denise Capasso da Silva, a graduate student at ASU, in recognition of her very strong outreach and mentorship activities with multiple organizations, her leadership in ASUITE and an excellent academic and research record. Denise will receive a $1,000 cash scholarship, a $500 travel stipend to attend an upcoming Student Leadership Summit or another ITE conference, and automatic submission as a nominee for the Mountain District Outstanding Graduate Student Award.

In support of Denise’s nomination, Dr. Ram M. Pendyala, Professor and Director of the ASU School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment, said “Denise is an outstanding graduate student and the best role model for women in transportation that I have ever come across in my 27+ years of teaching. I am extremely proud to have her as a graduate student in my research group as she inspires everybody around her with her commitment to excellence, passion for transportation, and most importantly – her dedication to providing leadership and making a difference in the world around her.”

Congratulations, Denise, and best of luck in the Mountain District competition! See the history of award recipients HERE.

Return to list