Founding District Sponsors

District Sponsors

Donate to Student Fund


Monetary donations or purchases of Mountain District Stickers and Pins all goes to support our many student initiatives!

Mountain District Board

 Mountain District President
Benjamin T. Waldman
Click here to email
Ben Waldman, P.E., PTOE has a long history building consensus around innovative solution for transportation challenges.  With over 25 years of experience in both the private and public sectors, he has led a broad range of transportation studies and design efforts. He is a past president of the ITE Colorado/Wyoming Section and was LAC chair of the 2018 ITE Joint Western and Texas District meeting in Keystone, Colorado. Ben grew up in Denver, Colorado and spent time in Texas during the 1990’s where he received Bachelors and Masters degrees from the University of Texas. In January, 2000 Ben returned to Denver Colorado where he currently resides with his wife and three children.
 Mountain District Vice President
Devin V. Moore
Click here to email
Devin Moore, P.E., PTOE, RSP2 is most proud of his successful 10+ years of marriage and his four beautiful children. He is also a transportation engineer at Kimley-Horn in Reno, Nevada, the Past President of the ITE Intermountain Section.  A Bachelor of Science graduate of Brigham Young University (where he was the Secretary of the ITE student chapter) and Master of Science graduate from Texas A&M University (where he served as President of the ITE student chapter), Devin is now pursuing a PhD from the University of Nevada Reno (where he serves as the ITE student chapter mentor). He has over 10 years of professional experience with a solid foundation of traffic analysis and a passionate emphasis on transportation safety, GIS applications and multimodal transportation planning. In 2016, Devin was awarded the Young Professional Achievement Award by the Western District.


 Mountain District Secretary-Treasurer
Danielle Scharf 
Click here to email
Danielle Scharf's, P.E., PTOE, LEED AP experience in ITE includes serving as an officer of the student chapter at Montana State University, the Montana Chapter and the Intermountain Section.  Most recently, she has served as the Chair of the Student Initiatives Committee for the Western District and as Vice Chair for the newly formed Student and Younger Member Committee of the Mountain District.  She is proud to have been honored for her service to ITE by being selected for the James L. Pline Award from the Intermountain Section in 2015 and the Young Professional Achievement Award from the Western District in 2010. She is a Principal and Region Manager for Sanderson Stewart in Bozeman, Montana. She has worked for Sanderson Stewart for nearly 18 years and has received nothing but enthusiastic support and encouragement for her involvement in ITE.


 Mountain District International Director
Karen E. Aspelin
Click here to email
Karen Aspelin, P.E., PTOE is the owner and principal engineer for MaxGreen Transportation Engineers, LLC, which she founded in 2017 in Colorado Springs.  She represents the new Mountain District on ITE’s International Board of Direction, and is a past president of the Western District and the New Mexico Section.  Karen has a B.S. in civil engineering from the University of Virginia, an M.S. in civil engineering from Texas A&M University, and over 25 years of experience in the industry.  Her favorite jobs involve taking a project from the beginning stages of study and public involvement all the way through preparation of design plans.


 Mountain District Administrator
Jenny L. Grote
Click here to email
Jenny L. Grote, P.E., PTOE, PTP has more than 35 years of leadership experience at all levels in ITE, including International President in 2002 and Western District Administrator for eight years, and now serves as the Mountain District Administrator. She is the owner and principal engineer of GroTrans Engineering, LLC, which she founded in 2017 after retiring from the City of Phoenix after serving for 31 years in the Street Transportation Department. Jenny's career began in Denver, Colorado with BRW, Inc. after receiving her BS degree in Civil and Environmental Engineering from the University of Colorado. She and her husband, Wulf, have now returned to Denver where they can enjoy rooting for the Broncos.  They have two grown daughters; a Landscape Architect at Stanford University, and;  a regional sales rep for iRobot in the Denver area.


Mountain District Section Representatives

David E. Lucas

Arizona Section Representative

Susi Marlina

Colorado-Wyoming Section Representative

Jeffrey W. Jones

Idaho Section Representative

Dillon McLain

Montana Section Representative

Kondala Rao Mantri

Nevada Section Representative

James R. Barrera

New Mexico Section Representative

Hal R. Johnson

Utah Section Representative

Past Presidents List

 Paul A. Barricklow Click here to email